Well.

I wasn’t quite sure what to do with the Daily Prompt – “second thoughts” – today. I made a conscious decision years ago to just not do regret, so I rarely have second thoughts about anything much anymore.

I can’t change the past, I can only control what I do with the consequences that arise from it. Holding grudges or getting lost in regret is the biggest waste of energy – energy that I simply cannot afford to spare.

So I let go of things and move on, and work out what to do about how things are now instead.

(Source)

But then I caught up with the US Election.

Now all I can think is:

I’m sorry, America. It’s not me, it’s you.

I try to keep divisive issues like politics out of my blog, but dayum I am in shock right now. I mean, really? The GOP speaks for you that much right now?

*shakes head*

The older I get, the more of a “bleeding heart liberal” I become. I truly do not understand how anyone in the First World can buy into the culture of fear and selfishness that conservative parties love to sell right now.

Honestly, we never had it so good.

So at the moment, I’m having second thoughts about engaging with the world at large at all. Conservative, exploitative, anti-intellectual, anti-science thought is sweeping through so many cultures right now, adding to the pain and suffering of vulnerable people everywhere, and it just…

I don’t understand.

Just do me a favour. Spend the next few days smiling at strangers; sharing a hug with someone you care about; losing yourself in music; getting absorbed in a moment of wonder at the amazing beauty that surrounds you – if you care to look for it.

Hope costs you nothing. Generosity simply adds to the joy in the world, in whichever small way you can spare it. The more love you give, the bigger and more abundant your heart becomes.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a family to embrace. Good luck with your choice, America. I hope you don’t end up regretting it.

Leave a Reply

