Everything old and so on and so forth

Howdy! Well that sure was a longer break between blog posts than I intended. So much has happened both inside and outside my own head that I just had to sit back and coast for a while.

But that’s not important right now.

What’s important is that it’s my oldest daughter’s 7th birthday party in THREE DAYS – and I have fallen back into old, unproductive habits.

Hardcore.

I started off well. I set a date and made up invitations 5 weeks ago. The guest list ballooned out more than I initially wanted, but my girl has had a rough year socially so I skirted up and changed my expectations to accommodate her excitement. I’ve been keeping a tally of RSVPs. I’ve been prepping and pre-purchasing things for it here and there over the last few weeks. I’ve queued up people to help out with stuff on the day.

But in my head it is Utter. Chaos.

I tried to deal with the panic by relaxing and drawing up lists until the final week, hoping to use the last-minute adrenaline to streamline it all and churn through the tasks involved.

But then I got a tummy bug on Sunday night.

And then once I finally started feeling productive again yesterday, my youngest puked her guts up.

So that knocked out yesterday and this morning.

Seriously, just kill me.

I have 20-25 kids turning up on Sunday morning for a fun Messy Play Party and all I want to do is curl up into a ball until it’s all over.

Can I pull it off this time? Or will I have a nervous breakdown and leave my daughter with an inexplicable sensation of dread every time her birthday approaches for the rest of her life?

Stay tuned…..

Leave a Reply

