The 8th Box

2015/03/img_2142.jpg

Sadly, I didn’t end up winning the inaugural Thiel Grant for Online Writing. Not gonna lie, I’m a little bummed. That being said, I was Highly Commended and the winning project does look seriously awesome. If I was to be pipped at the post at least I was beaten by a pretty great idea.

Oh well.

Onward to the next box!

Box number 8 was really quite light (which was great since I had a little helper for this one).

2015/03/img_2143.jpg

Talk about a random collection of stuff! A bunch of it was old mail and padding to protect the vase, which could all go straight in the recycling. I also had to throw out the baby shampoo and bath wash in that gift box that was a good four years past its “best before” date. Thankfully the bunny was still in good nick (and immediately snaffled by Miss 2).

2015/03/img_2149.jpg

The non-rubbish ended up being mostly memorabilia: birthday cards; a scan and newborn baby photo of my oldest; DVDs burned for me by a friend; Rocky Horror stickers that I bought in Japan when I was 17; notes and pictures from myself, my kids, and others; a super cute sake set (that I can’t for the life of me remember where I got); a VIP pass for a music festival I was sent to when I briefly dabbled in music journalism with a street press magazine.

Also?

2015/03/img_2158.jpg

$80 worth of gift cards. From 2010.

*cue intense shame response*

I am the worst when it comes to using up gift cards. Especially in a shop like JB Hi-Fi where I walk in and get completely overwhelmed by choice. I prefer ones I can use on food or clothing or other essentials – I don’t get so caught up in choosing “the best” way to spend them then.

I will be adding these to another expired gift card I forgot about and rediscovered sometime last year, and keeping them somewhere prominent to remind myself to stay more on top of things. So sick of wasting resources like this! All these thoughtful, caring friends basically donated money to the companies on my behalf. Not cool, Meg. Not cool.

The vase and sake set were stashed away in the kitchen, the bunny absorbed into the general toy collection, the DVDs piled near the TV. The rest of the memorabilia was culled again and then put in a drawer for now.

I think I’ve hit a point where I need to address my permanent storage needs before I can go through any more boxes. Shifting piles of junk from one place to another is only really delaying problems rather than fixing them.

Gah! Why can’t I just click my fingers and have everything done? Slogging through the hard stuff has never been my forte.

But then, that’s kind of the entire point of this blog, so…

*skirts up and gets on with it*

*right after this cuppa, I swear*

5 thoughts on “The 8th Box

  1. We moved in November, and there’s this one bag that has barely been touched, other than to move it out of the way. It’s a brown paper sack in the kitchen floor, which holds the contents of our ‘junk’ drawer at the old house. Still there, still full. I’m not judging you! Plus, I found 4 expired winning scratch-off lottery tickets the other day. Gah!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear about the Theil Grant, shorlisted is very good and as you are a writer, it’s good to know your pitch was worthy, a shame really because the 52 boxes would have been a great series of posts.

    I lived out of boxes for years I’d eventually unpack and just have to find places for this stuff, it’s a bit nightmarish, because you always think it will come in useful one day, it rarely does, but you do find some gems so it’s worth it.

    I’m useless with gift cards, especially now like you i would prefer to use them at the supermarket, I used to swap them for cash with my mum, which means they didn’t always get forgotten about.

    take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is such a great idea! I will definitely sell on any I don’t think I’ll use in future.

      And you’re right – it is nice to know that my pitch was worthy of shortlisting. That money REALLY would’ve come in handy though. *wistful sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

