Tasty Tuesday: Slow Cooker Black Bean and Cauliflower Soup

I am not a slow cooker person.

We bought one some time ago, expecting it to make our lives easier in the evenings (like everyone keeps saying it will). Slight problem: we SUCK at mornings. By the time I’ve got my shit together enough to prep a crock pot it’s already lunchtime, meaning that the meal won’t be ready until well past bedtime. Meaning that we’re best off prepping the night before – taking us right back to square one by complicating our evenings again!

I made an extra special effort to try out this recipe though. I found it a little while ago and almost made it a few times but kept missing the morning window to set things off. It FINALLY happened yesterday though, and boy was it worth the wait.

I altered the recipe a bit to accommodate the herbs and spices I had on hand and use up some cauliflower I had going off in the fridge. The kids weren’t convinced at first but loved it as a corn chip dip once it cooled down. Our leftovers will not be going off before they’re eaten!

2015/03/img_2249.jpg

Ingredients:

Serves 6-8

1lb (ca. 450g) dried black beans, rinsed
1 brown onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 stalk celery, diced
1 carrot, diced
1/4 head cauliflower, diced
1 tin (400g) diced tomato
1 tbsp ground cumin
1 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp turmeric
Ground pepper to taste
5 1/2 cups water with 1 1/2 tbsp Herbamare (or 5 1/2 cups stock)

Method:

2015/03/img_2246.jpg

– Combine everything in a slow cooker, stir well, and cook on high for at least 6 hours (or until beans are super soft).

– Blend with an immersion blender (or do batches in a processor once it has cooled enough), adding extra water if necessary.

This would be amazing with sour cream, but since that wasn’t an option for me I served mine up with a dollop of mashed avocado, a swirl of coriander paste and a sprinkling of diced tomato and olives.

I haven’t traveled much, but I have been to Mexico, and this closely resembles the flavours I remember from that trip. I’m totally going to pair some leftovers up with corn chips and vegan mozarella for nachos tomorrow! YAY!!

Update:

2015/03/img_2252.jpg

DAIRY-FREE NACHOS, YOU GUYS!!

So good, I even grilled up a second serving. 😀 It’s been waaaaay too long…

3 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Slow Cooker Black Bean and Cauliflower Soup

Leave a Reply

