*crickets chirping*

I’m all over the place at the moment, but this blog is always at the back of my mind, despite my apparent neglect. I have A BUNCH of posts taking shape in my head but they’re all in pieces and the windows of time in which they are relevant are closing. I also need to chase up a couple of leads for possible writing work but find myself a little paralysed over them AND school starts up again in less than a week, so that’s hanging over my head too. In no particular order, here’s a bit of a brain declutter:

– I’ve emptied two more boxes from my back room as per my “one box a week” resolution. Blog post coming soon!

– I saw Amanda Palmer speak at the Sydney Writers’ Festival the other night, with special guests including Tara Moss (who I now have a bit of a lady-crush on) and of course Neil Gaiman. “Inspired” doesn’t quite cover how I felt afterwards but it’s close enough for now. Blog post coming soon!

– I have been wanting to pull my thoughts together in the aftermath of the Sydney siege and Charlie Hebdo shooting as a Sunday Soapbox post, but I think I may have to accept defeat. It’s too big and convoluted a topic for me to tackle right now. Thankfully David Wong has covered off most of my intended talking points over at Cracked with his article 6 ways to keep terrorists from ruining the world. It’s well worth a read for anyone with a handle on nuance and an ounce of compassion for this big, crazy, mash-up of madness that we call humanity.

– I’ve set up a twitter account (@meg_mediocre) and a Facebook page tied to my personal account, with the intention of linking them all together and deleting my current Facebook presence for this blog. It’s too much of a barrier having to re-login with a different account so I’ve been letting it languish too much.

– Speaking of Facebook, I’ve been made an admin for an international attachment parenting group that I’ve been involved with for some time now. It’s fun, but distracting! I still think I’d be a much better parent if only those pesky kids would stop hassling me with their needs all the time…

– I’m going to apply for a local blogging grant and another casual writing/editing job a friend sent me an ad for. Plus my Dad is going to hire me for some technical writing and research work for some apps he’s developing. Part of me is freaking out but hopefully the rest of me can settle that part down with a cuppa and just get it all done in time. Fingers crossed!

– My winner’s profile has gone up over at micro bookends, and it includes my surname and a picture of me for anyone curious. I’m thinking if I want to make a go of this freelancing gig I can’t necessarily stay anonymous anymore. Still not going to post identifying photos of my kids here but I reckon I’ll ease up a bit on personal secrecy. Meanwhile, I had the option of opting out of judging this week’s contest – but I didn’t. Quite looking forward to it now!

– I have been discovering so many cool blogs, recipes and books lately! I think my next big goal for the blog is to really work on scheduling and committing to regular writing so I can feel more on top of things again. I actually bought a pretty nice diary this year (blog post coming soon!) and have been reacquainting myself with my laptop. I can do this!

– My youngest has been dropping her day nap quite a bit lately and actually going to sleep as early as 6pm in the evenings. I’ve consequently had a chance to test a theory and experiment with bi-phasic sleep for myself. So far it’s looking promising. Basically, I pass out with her, sleep for a few hours until I naturally wake up in the middle of the night, get up and do stuff for a few hours, then nap for a few hours more. It’s how humans normally slept back before electric lighting and I suspect my brain will lap it up if I can get it right. The experiment is ongoing.

I think that’s most of what is currently going on in the Life of Meg. The meds I’m taking for my depression have been helping keep my moods on an even keel but they’re playing havoc on my (already small!) plan-making stamina. I guess at least they’re forcing me to live in the moment more!

To finish up – three things I’m grateful for today:

1. My Dad, for dealing with his discomfort with me breaking down over the phone to him the other day and coming up with a really awesome solution.

2. A bag full of clothes that I bought from a new friend. I SUCK at clothes shopping for myself these days so it was fantastic to be able to try on a bunch of beautiful pre-loved stuff in someone’s house while the girls could happily play with a stash of previously unseen toys. Now I just need to get rid of some of my old clothing to compensate.

3. Free dental care for the girls! I finally got them in for their first ever dentist check up today – and it was a bunch of fun! I’m so grateful I waited until I knew my oldest could handle the invasiveness, and I’m so grateful that the dentist and his assistant were AMAZING with kids, and I’m so grateful we finally have (albeit limited) government-funded dental care for children here now. It’s about bloody time! Such a worthwhile investment for the future of the country.

What’s new with you?

5 thoughts on “*crickets chirping*

  1. I can totally relate to the window of time closing on relevant blog posts you’d/I’d been wanting to make. Frustrating! But maybe the topic is so universal that anytime is a good time. Here is Seattle, people are still marching re the Ferguson tragedy/police brutality towards black folks.

    Good to read your writing!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! I’m dizzy, looking forward to all the blog posts, congrats on scoring the writing job from your dad, that’s really good news, I love blogging, but need to put more work into it, to give it the feel I want.
    I will follow your link for a look see at your photo, I might be brave enough to show mine one day..lol.

    Good the girls are back at school, frees up some time for you, and congrats with sticking with the decluttering.

    Most important, yes life is hetic but be kind to yourself and try to find some time just for you, even if it’s just 30 mins a day it’s something that’s yours alone.

    Take care x

    Like

Leave a Reply

