How do you do it?

What a shitty, shitty morning.

For real, everyone in this house is tired, cranky, and disconnected today. I just want to curl up in bed and find a good chunk of silence so I can get my head together.

But no. The kids randomly woke up earlier than expected (typical for my 2yo but unheard of for my 6yo) and roused me in a bad part of my sleep cycle, meaning I’ll be groggy til well into the afternoon. We’ve recently started watching My Little Pony (a new obsession for my oldest) so had to put a few episodes on, which dragged out way longer than my 2yo could handle so I nursed her through most of it to keep the peace (yes I am breastfeeding my 2yo. If that is an issue for you please take it up with the WHO) as I was too tired to think of anything else to do. Then the girls couldn’t go two minutes without fighting or whining or snatching while I tried to get the kitchen in order and dealt with my 2yo bugging me for lollies and my 6yo bugging me to sit down and play pretend. Eventually hubby woke up – only to tell me he had a helpline call to deal with and retreat back to his computer for a while. When he came back he was grumpy and over-hungry too so stomped around the kitchen, snapping at everyone and generally not helping things.

It’s hot and sticky. The fans and portable aircon are noisy. The kids are grating. A nearby construction site has a digger clanking and huffing around. Hubby is banging cupboards and barking questions at the kids. The kitchen’s a mess because the recycling is overflowing and I didn’t get around to washing dishes yesterday – and just ONE DAY of dishes means the bench is completely covered with cups and bowls. The living room is cluttered with toys. And crusty, thanks to me taking the path of least resistance and letting the kids eat dinner in front of the TV last night and not getting around to clearing up crumbs (which proliferated even though I put a towel down to eat on). Even the cat piled on by puking on my shoes last night and pinching bits of ham and cheese toastie before I cleaned up properly, only to stash bits under the clutter!

AARGH! GET ME OUTTA HERE!!

Seriously, how do you do it? How do you keep ahead of all this shit instead of scrambling to pull small bits of it together once it’s all fallen apart? I feel like if I focus on maintenance cleaning I let my parenting slip so my kids get more needy and derailing. So I shift my emphasis on to good cooking and playing with them – and start feeling lonely. Then I arrange some outings and play dates with friends – and get exhausted. Then I try to relax at home for a bit only to find I can’t because the house is &*#%ing filthy again!

I’m genuinely asking. Those of you who feel on top of things and well organised: how do you do it? Do I just have completely unrealistic expectations of what a healthy amount of downtime is? Is my head just complaining so much that I’m making it way harder than it is? How do you switch off your brain and just get things done without the internal moaning? Or do you not need to? HOW DO I GET A SHINY, CLEAN, WELL-ORGANISED BRAIN LIKE YOURS?!

What does a typical day look like for you? I honestly don’t know what a well-run household looks or feels like. Maybe if you show me yours it will help…

14 thoughts on “How do you do it?

  1. Some days are just chaotic. No one has a perfect house, do they? Really? I have this belief that those with tidy houses are boring people. πŸ™‚ That’s my way of coping. I don’t have kids but I have days like this too. Envious of the cat, but not the puke part. πŸ™‚
    Throw a tea towel over the dirty dishes and walk away for a bit. If you can’t see it, it doesn’t exist, right? πŸ™‚ Made you smile. The heat doesn’t help. But isn’t that nature’s way of saying, go take a nap? You’re doing just fine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You did make me smile with that comment. πŸ˜€ Thanks. And I tell ya, I’m hanging out for the day when I can just go take a nap if I feel like it without having to organise some sort of care for the kids!

      Like

  2. Oh, you need a hug, you. Or a maid. What I wouldn’t give for one… and I only have one kid!

    On days like this, I put on The Jive CD (don’t judge me, it was my dad’s and it grew on me) and I just play it on a loop. Never fails to put me in a better mood.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh it is so hard- you have my sympathies. we have had many days like this too and all u can really do is just grit your teeth and keep on doing what you’re doing- you’re doing fine. it sounds a cliche but I really think it does get easier as they get older (mine are 9 & 6 now) – a few years makes so much difference in terms of their abilities and independence. good luck! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh days like this are hard!!! We all have them. I usually try to steal a momant and breathe somewhere. Just try to think about what is truly important. And then do the part I enjoy the most and only a little bit of the rest. It will catch up on you but you know, the next day you will feel different again and then just do it then. The cleaning, the washing and so on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

