Wednesday Recipe: Water Kefir

I know it’s Thursday (almost Friday here in fact). Shush! I want to get back on top of things so figured it was better to post late than not at all.

Anyway.

A couple of weeks ago I got my hands on some water kefir grains from a facebook friend. I’ve been wanting to include more probiotics in my diet but often either can’t eat (thanks to my gluten and dairy issues) or just plum don’t like store bought fermented foods. This seemed like a good first experiment for home fermentation.

A great guide to the basics of water kefir can be found here – be sure to watch the video at the end if you want to give this a shot. I didn’t at first and almost killed my grains with boiling hot water! Thankfully they rebounded.

My goal has been to experiment with flavours until my girls like it (especially my oldest, who could really do with more probiotics herself). So far these two have been winners, albeit watered down with soda water:

1. Mixed Berry

IMG_0684.JPG

After the initial ferment pour the water into a jar and add a handful of frozen mixed berries. Leave to ferment on the counter another day or two for extra fizz.

2. Lemon and Ginger

IMG_0673.JPG

After the initial ferment add two slices of lemon and a few chunks of fresh ginger (I added fresh blueberries to this batch but prefer it without – although the blueberries were super tasty to eat!). Again, you can leave it on the counter to get some extra fizz or just pop it straight in the fridge. I highly recommend leaving it for at least 24 hours if possible for the flavours to blend.

My next batch will include pear and ginger, and some pomegranate juice I need to use up. I’ll keep you posted!

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Recipe: Water Kefir

    1. My youngest specifically asks for the “lemonade” now, but my 6yo still isn’t 100% convinced. I can get her to drink some if it’s really watered down by explaining how good it is for her system but she says it makes her tummy feel funny and doesn’t really enjoy it. I’m thinking I might try some milk kefir to make yoghurt next.

      Like

      1. My youngest is a teenager now, so it’s a tough sell. I wish I had started fermenting when my kids were little like yours. Charlotte would think it’s normal (she thinks I’m a weirdo hippie mom). My older daughter loves fermented food though. She has made lots of ferments and inspired me to try fermented vegetables. Good luck with your milk kefir and yogurt. I hope your kids like them 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Fascinating. I just saw the video on making water kefir. You are opening up a whole new world to me. I have heard the word but didn’t realise that you could make it yourself. I have the bottles in my kitchen. I was going to make my own ginger beer but I got side tracked. I will look into this after New Year. I can get the kefir grains nearby.

    Like

Leave a Reply

