More Liebster Love!

So a couple more people nominated me for the Liebster award – Alex at Still Life With Grad Student (who nominated me at pretty much the exact same time I nominated her!) and Hayley at A Stitch to Scratch. Thanks so much, ladies!

I won’t do the full she-bang again, but I’ll answer the questions you posed.

Alex asked ten questions to her ten nominees:

1. Pea-green nail polish, edgy or icky? (Bonus points if you get the reference)

I don’t get your reference so I’ll just waggle my fingers and say “divine decadence!” to make my own slightly related reference instead.

2. Tea or coffee?

Both! Generally coffee in the morning and tea from lunchtime(ish) on, although I’m trying to start the day with green tea now (so it will be tea-coffee-tea through the day).

3. Favourite holiday?

Christmas. We’re not religious in my family but we do love the excuse to get together, eat lots of food, and give thoughtful gifts to loved ones.

4. List three of your hobbies.

Crocheting
Embroidery
Baking healthy treats so I can indulge my sweet tooth more.

5. What’s your favourite genre of music?

I love some music from all genres. That’s the real beauty of music: you can always find something that will exactly suit your mood in that moment.

6. What’s your favourite genre of film?

Sci-Fi. Movies to me are pure escapism so I don’t want to be challenged or asked to care about other people’s drama or relationships. Give me the bang- bang and the zoom-zoom and the pretty space shots and the fantastical creations and technologies!

7. What was your favourite subject in school?

Toss-up between music, drama and maths.

8. Impulse purchasing: Fess up, do you do it?

Hell yes! I’m always happier when I only have enough money for the bare essentials. I just squander away any buffer and feel guilty soon afterwards.

9. What’s your favourite ice cream flavour?

I can’t do ice cream anymore but my favourite gelateria does this amazing vegan, gluten-free peanut brownie sorbet. Drooooool!

10. On a scale of 1 (not at all) to 10 (very, very much), how much of a procrastinator are you?

I think I’m about an 8, but I’ll confirm that right after I check Facebook for a couple of hours…

Hayley’s turn! She asked five questions for her five nominees:

1. What is your favourite thing to drink?

Coffee. If it’s too late in the day for caffeine (or it’s a really hot day) then plain soda water.

2. If you could meet one celebrity or famous person, who would it be?

I’d actually love to hang out with the whole Jolie-Pitt clan for a while. I think we’d really get on.

3. Do you play any instruments?

I’ve mentioned this before, but I have a degree in classical saxophone and formal training on the piano. Have also dabbled with ukulele, clarinet, recorder, double bass and tabla.

4. If you could visit anywhere in the world, where? and why?

I’ve always wanted to go to Finland, probably mostly due to my love of Moomintrolls and the fact that I had a Finnish pen pal as a kid. I find a lot about Scandinavian culture, weather and landscape appealing. It’s so very different from the parts of Australia I know!

5. A pet peeve?

People who drive through the pedestrian crossing behind me and my girls when we’re only part way across the road. Seriously? Wherever you’re going is more important than waiting ten more seconds to ensure you don’t accidentally clip my TWO YEAR OLD with your car??

Thanks again guys! I love both your blogs too. I hope you enjoyed reading my answers here.

4 thoughts on “More Liebster Love!

  1. When I read sci-fi, I immediately thought of Doctor Who, and then I felt all kinds of guilty because I’ve never watched a single episode. Have you?

    Boo to impatient drivers! The way people drive around here make me never want to take my daughter near the roads, ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I LOVED Doctor Who as a kid. Loved, loved, loved it. All the dodgy sets and cheesy aliens and psychedelic music and effects. But I just cannot get into the modern stuff. It’s too bleak and psychological and I really dislike all the heavy feelings between him and his companions. I did enjoy it at first but just gave up and stopped forcing myself to watch it about halfway through David Tennant’s run.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Really? Now that’s new, I’ve always read the fangirl’s point of view, not the ones who fell out of love with it. Is it too depressing? Not enough laughs? Not enough science geekery o.0?

        Like

      2. It’s just too bleak for me, is the main thing. I’m pretty sensitive to mood in my media (especially since having kids) and I was finding that the episodes would stay with me for days and make me a bit melancholy. Plus all the fawning over the Doctor was getting pretty old – and I don’t like that they gave him feelings for his companions.

        I do understand the fangirl pov though – Tennant and Smith were both REALLY attractive and I was a big fan of the bisexual chemistry whenever they got Captain Jack on (I loved the first series of Torchwood for this reason too). I just miss the light-hearted cheese factor you got in the days of Tom Baker and others of his ilk.

        Like

Leave a Reply

