Widgets and headers and sidebars oh my!

I have a confession to make. It’s kind of embarrassing in this day and age – and especially for someone only in their thirties – but I feel like I need to just lay it out on the table here.

I’m pretty much IT illiterate.

I don’t know why, but I’ve never been able to get the hang of computers. I just can’t latch in to the right way of thinking to make sense of how they work. It’s symptomatic, really: my brain always seems to shut down whenever I try to teach it something practical. In maths I would ace all the abstract stuff but as soon as we did statistics or compound interest or pretty much anything to do with finance, really, it was just in one ear and out the other. In physics I loved looking at atoms and waveforms and gravitational effects, but electrical circuits? I couldn’t tell my ohms from my watts from my amps.

And so it is with computers. They’re a mystery to me. A big, intimidating, frustrating mystery. Why do they need so many files and folders? And 57 options for each action? And why do all the printers hate me and just flat out refuse to do what they’re asked? How hard is it to just print when I hit the damn “print” button?! Huh??! IT’S YOUR ENTIRE REASON FOR EXISTING, YOU SMUG, CONTRARY LITTLE CONTRAPTION!!

It’s only gotten worse since iPhones came along. I do all of my internet stuff on my phone (along with about 80% of my reading and gaming) and only turn to my laptop if the iPad still doesn’t cut it. If I’m going to try to make a go of writing, though, I’m going to have to reacquaint myself with a keyboard and brush up on my Word skills as much as my word skills.

Dagnabbit.

So yeah, I think I’ll wait til my fabulous tech support guy (aka the hubby) is free to walk me through everything before I get into playing around with widgets and headers and sidebars on here. I’ll just stick to the word-wrangling for now.

3 thoughts on “Widgets and headers and sidebars oh my!

Leave a Reply

