Blogging 101

So I signed up to do the Blogging 101 course through the Daily Post. Hopefully it will help me get the ball rolling here, and hopefully I can get a bit more of a community going – although that can be a bit of a double edged sword given my fully sick procrastination skills when there are online discussions to be had!

I’m a little late getting started (no surprises there) BUT I’ve already written an introduction I’m happy with and I spent over a year refining my title and tag line before I set this thing up, so it’s pretty smooth sailing so far.

I will take a moment to elaborate on my title and tag line though, as it might possibly come across as a bit negative.

All my life I’ve had great support systems who gave me the message “You’re smart! You can do anything if you just put your mind to it!” and consistently kept options open to me to succeed at whatever I wanted to do. Pretty positive, right?

Not so much.

I’m a textbook case of someone whose identity was wrapped up in being “the smart kid.” If anything was too much effort I’d quit rather than risk failing and I constantly fudged things and refused offers of help to avoid the chance of looking dumb. Plus, I’m always terrified of closing options off in case I lock myself in to something that proves to be a dead end and spend the rest of my life regretting things. Sure, I might end up succeeding at something if I put my mind to it, but you have to have that “something” in mind first! In reality, I’ve instead become overwhelmed by choices and interests so just end up drifting and half-assing everything and generally being stressed out and numb (especially since I often also feel like I’ve failed everyone who ever put faith in me too).

On top of that, my parents were pretty permissive, creative types who actively encouraged us to live outside the norm and left us to our own devices a lot. That might sound good on paper, but given how lacking in drive and focus I’ve always been the end result is one slobby, lazy individual with no self-discipline or grasp of basic life skills.

Now that I have kids of my own I am determined to get my shit together so I can model a better lifestyle for them to emulate. It’s time to grow up and get back to the basic building blocks of a happy, successful life. No more thinking that I’m somehow “better” than people who do housework and have routines and just get on with mundane life stuff. No more pressure to always keep options open and be spontaneous. No more ridiculous perfectionism getting in the way of just getting shit done.

Basically, I need to accept that life is often ordinary and mundane and I’m still a worthwhile person if I don’t excel at everything I do. After all, exceptional things are meaningless if you don’t have a mediocre background to compare them to.

Time to cherish the ordinary, everyday stuff so I can create the necessary launching pad to find my true bliss.

2 thoughts on “Blogging 101

  1. You’ve written that better than I ever could. You know, I didn’t even know that those were my exact same feels until I read them? It’s just so familiar, aside from my parents being a bit stricter and enrolling me in any available artistic program which I would invariably quit a few weeks in. And they would let me. Now, I see how awesome it could have been if I’d stuck with something but alas, it’s too late to have them pay for classes (growing up, not as free-wheeling as it seems).

    Take those baby steps with pride, soul sister 🙂
    – Jill @ kyaruandbunnies.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

